City Changer Julius Mwelu in the Olympic Torch Relay


Julius Mwelu is a photographer from the Mathare slum in Nairobi, in Kenya. He applied to The International Olympic Committee (IOC) to participate  in the Olympic Torch Relay and he was accepted, as an important recognition of his personal achievement from slum dweller to professional and world-renowned photographer.

This morning, Julius Mwelu became part of history when he participated in the Olympic Torch Relay for the London Olympic Games 2012  in Norwich City, United Kingdom. Julius’ participation is part of the “I’m a City Changer”campaign, as an example of an initiative that encourages all urban dwellers to be proactive and improve the living conditions in their cities.

“This is a dream come true for me because participating in the Olympics is almost every human being’s dream. I am glad that in a way I took part in this historic event by carrying the Olympic Torch,” a beaming Julius said after the race.

Julius says: “I started taking photos when I was just 12 years old but my first attempts were not very good because I had missed people’s hands and sometimes their heads! But no pain no gain, and after two or three months I become a better photographer, under the Shootback project.” Julius eventually managed to hold a solo exhibition in Holland and published a book of photos titled, “Julius,” about his experience in the slum.

“In my normal routine of photography, I would meet with enthusiastic kids in the community, who would ask me how the camera works and how the photos come out.  That’s how I came up with the idea for the Mwelu Foundation through which I help youth living in slums to express their lives through photography and video.”

By the time the Games will kick off, some 8,000 Torchbearers will have carried the Flame through more than 1,000 cities, towns and villages in the United Kingdom over a period of 70 days. Each one of them has a personal history to share with the other people who are watching.

CHECK OUT THE VIDEO:


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment